Find Your Pace

One thing I know I keep saying is that I am not fast – and its true. When I trained for the Disney Princess Half Marathon, I tried to train for a 14 minute mile, as RunDisney has a requirement of staying under a 16 minute mile. I now average being around 13 minutes and 30 seconds. My husband and I are looking at doing a half marathon locally in the fall that has a 14 minute per mile requirement. While I currently under that, I would like to knock at least a minute off of my average so that I will be more confident going into it.

However, when I first started running, I was perfectly content to walk/run at a 15 to 16 minute pace. It takes time to build up muscles and stamina, and that is okay! I am also short (LOL) so that hinders my speed as well.

I also don’t feel that I need to be fast – I just want to enjoy myself.

Putting on my sneakers and hitting the pavement is FUN for me. I look forward to getting up in the morning and going for a jog, and also to late night sticky summer runs. I don’t have to be fast to be a runner – all I have to do is run.

If you are not looking to be a competitive runner, this is the blog for you. I don’t run to win races. I run to get exercise, clear my head, and have a good time. I like to run in different places, and enjoy pretty views. It took a little while to get to this place – it wasn’t tons of fun in the beginning. But I pushed through, as SO MUCH of me desperately wanted to be a runner.

I would say that it took me three months of running before I started to enjoy it. I was going to the gym every day and running at the gym. Then, about 6 months into it, I decided to go for a run outside – and I haven’t been to the gym since. I didn’t cancel my gym membership, as I am not a cold weather person. I figured there was no way, at all, that I would get up and run when it was (literally) freezing outside. And then winter came. And instead of running on a treadmill, I just bought warmer running clothes, gloves and hats. I ran outside the entire winter. I haven’t been to the gym in almost a year! (Which reminds me, I really need to cancel that membership….)

Running also my therapy! If I am having a particularly stressful day at work, I will absolutely lace up and run on my lunch hour. I am blessed to work in an area where I can do that. I have two options – road running, which gets me about 4 miles, or there is a great trail area where i can do a shorter hike/run – all near my office.

Whether early in the morning, late at night, or on my lunch hour, I love to lace up my sneakers, put in my headphones and RUN. I really hope I can assist YOU through this blog to Find YOUR pace and find YOUR place in the running world. It’s a pretty awesome place to be!

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑

Fat Girl to Ironman

My five year journey to awesomeness...

Jolie La Vie

Ridding Ourselves of Excess Weight

Gempiccaddilly

The struggles of a foodie, who likes restaurants, trying new foods, travelling to eat food but is still hopeful about reaching my (as yet) unrealised target of being a size 12. I post about my travels, food, my slimming world journey, food, pastimes and other randomness

To The Moon And The Stars

A Lifestyle, Travel And Everything In Between Kind of Blog

One Tough Mother Runner

Wife. Mother. Runner.

Discover

A daily selection of the best content published on WordPress, collected for you by humans who love to read.

Longreads

The best longform stories on the web

The Daily Post

The Art and Craft of Blogging

The WordPress.com Blog

The latest news on WordPress.com and the WordPress community.

