Meal Prep Sunday – #1!

One of the most important parts of weight loss and fitness is diet. A saying that has stuck with me is:

Weight Loss = 70% nutrition + 20% exercise + 10% genes

This is SO true. I can work out like a BEAST, but if I am not following that up with the correct nutritional choices, I won’t be able to maintain my current size.

Back in October and November of 2016, I started to really lose a lot of weight too quickly. I was at the height of my half marathon training, running 20-30 miles per week, and I wasn’t eating enough calories, nor was I eating the RIGHT calories.

I spoke with my family doctor and my nutritionist, and they told me something so very important: I had to stop eating like a Weight Loss Surgery/Bariatric patient, and start eating like an Athlete.

It was AMAZING to hear this, and also very eye opening. I now needed to add more carbohydrates into my diet – a component that I had mostly been avoiding for almost two years!

Going from a Bariatric diet to an Athlete’s diet was mentally very hard for me. I was terrified that if I added Carbs, even good ones, I would begin gaining weight uncontrollably again. I am very lucky to have a great support team in the doctors and professionals that I work with. Together, we worked on a great plan and it is working for me – and hopefully this will help others as well!

I am going to try to update this blog every week showing my meal plan, so I can show what I do in the kitchen to make me successful with my nutritional goals.

I start every morning by drinking 12 ounces of water. I do always have a coffee. If I make it at home, I just add a sugar free creamer. If I stop at Starbucks (which happens more than I would like to admit) I get a Grande Pike Place coffee, with two pumps of Skinny Mocha, a splash of heavy cream, and 2 splenda. It’s delicious, and not high in carbs.

For breakfast, I usually have an Oikos Triple Zero Salted Caramel yogurt, with a sprinkle off Wegman’s Cocoa and Chia Granola. This has become a pretty standard breakfast, and I have it every week. Great protein, healthy carbs, and it’s pretty filling. I eat this around 8am.

 

At around 10 am, I will usually drink a protein shake. This does vary, and I have tried numerous protein powders that I don’t hate, but the absolute best protein shakes I have ever had are the Chocolate Premier Protein Shake. These have 30 grams of protein, are only 160 calories, and they taste great! The best part is that I can drink it right from the container. I keep a case in my trunk for if I forget my lunch, or need a quick pick me up. They can be bought online, and in most grocery stores. I buy them buy the case at my nearest Costco 🙂

 


Lunch this week is slow cooker shredded chicken barbecue – just chicken breast with a barbecue sauce. I put that on top of a homemade cheesy cauliflower mash, and boom – great protein, good carbs, and YUM. I put 3 ounces of chicken BBQ on top of a 1/2 cup of the mash.

Afternoon snack is Roasted Garlic Hummus with 1/2 cup raw cauliflower, 1/2 cup of raw broccoli, and about 5-10 cherry tomatoes. I also add in a string cheese. This I snack on over the course of the afternoon, which helps with that 3:00 PM really want a snack problem 🙂

At this point in the day, I will have met my protein, Vitamin A and C, Calcium, and Fiber goals. The above has 96 grams of protein, 63 carbs, and 33 grams of fat – and only 897 calories.

When I get home, I eat whatever my family is having for dinner, within reason. We always have a protein, veg, and carb. I eat it in that order, and typically and full by the time I get to the carb. I do also make extra of my lunch for the week in containers, in case diner is going to be carb heavy, such as pasta.

At the end of the day, I try to eat between 1200-1400 calories, more if I have gone on a particularly hard and/or long run that day.

What is on your menu for the week? I would love to share recipes!

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑

Fat Girl to Ironman

My five year journey to awesomeness...

Jolie La Vie

Ridding Ourselves of Excess Weight

Gempiccaddilly

The struggles of a foodie, who likes restaurants, trying new foods, travelling to eat food but is still hopeful about reaching my (as yet) unrealised target of being a size 12. I post about my travels, food, my slimming world journey, food, pastimes and other randomness

To The Moon And The Stars

A Lifestyle, Travel And Everything In Between Kind of Blog

One Tough Mother Runner

Wife. Mother. Runner.

Discover

A daily selection of the best content published on WordPress, collected for you by humans who love to read.

The Daily Post

The Art and Craft of Blogging

The WordPress.com Blog

The latest news on WordPress.com and the WordPress community.

