Throw away your scale.

Fact: Most people start fitness and nutritional journeys in order to lose weight. That is 100% why I started.

Fact: If you make healthier choices consistently and add more exercise consistently to your sedentary lifestyle, you will lose weight.

FALSE: THIN automatically = Healthy

Let’s talk about this. As I mentioned in a previous post, I had an eating disorder in high school – I was at my worst Senior year. In my head, I was obese – fat – disgusting.

Below is a picture of me in my senior year of high school:

Folder001_00046A (2)

 

That girl is NOT fat.

But I HATED myself. I would restrict food, and if I had to eat because I was with friends and family, I would quickly find a way to throw up everything I ate. I thought I had to weigh 120lbs and be a size 2. For some reason, that is what was in my head.

Even through all my eating disorder, I think the lowest I got to was 140 lbs. Was I thin? Sure. Was I healthy? Not at ALL. I was starving, I was stressed, I was also over involved – between school, singing groups, community theatre, horse shows and just being a teenager – mentally, I couldn’t handle it. I felt completely out of control. So I latched onto the one thing I could control : How much I ate.

The schedule I had would make anybody tired. I was consuming less than 200 calories a day for about 10 months. I OBSESSED over the scale. I was EXHAUSTED. And yet, every tenth of a pound lost was a victory. If I gained a tenth of a pound? It was the end of the world, and I would restrict even further.

Eventually, my mom caught me. And I went to therapy. And I did stop purging. I didn’t, however, really address my body image issues.

Many times throughout the rest of my life, I would revert – if only for a short time – back to the old binge and purge. This was one of the biggest topics discussed in my pre-weight-loss surgery psychologist sessions. What would prevent me from starting this cycle again? I had to go through a LOT of therapy, and talk a LOT of issues out in order to heal – but I worked through it, and was finally approved for the surgery.

Directly after weight loss surgery, I lost a ton of weight. 13 pounds in the first week. Such an incredible feeling. As time goes by, that weight-loss will inevitably slow down. The first 40ish pounds went super fast. I checked in with my doctor at least once a month for the first six months, then again at 9 months, and then at 1 year. One year post weight loss surgery, I had lost about 80 pounds. At my 18 month appointment, I had officially lost 100 pounds. But I started to get upset – That meant I had only lost 20 pounds in six months, and I felt like that wasn’t enough. My goal was to be half my size by 18 months, and I had failed.

(I get that this sounds ridiculous. I hadn’t failed ANYTHING – I was now just above 170 pounds – a HUNDRED POUNDS WERE GONE – but old habits die hard.)

I started obsessing over the scale. I wanted so desperately to lose 35 more pounds. Some days, I would get on the scale 7 or 8 times. Then one day, the battery died in the digital scale. Instead of replacing it, I threw the scale away. I reminded myself that I was on a journey to get HEALTHY – not THIN.

Without the scale, I felt free. I continued my running, I made healthy choices, but I didn’t obsess over a number. I pushed myself harder as my training demanded, getting ready for my half marathon. I stuck strictly to the dietary guidelines set for me. Slowly, my pants got looser. I started to see more definition in my calves and my arms.

In February of this year, 2017, I went for my 2 year checkup with my weight-loss surgeon. We talked about my physical success, and the upcoming half marathon. Then I got on the scale – and I was just under 135 pounds. I had lost more than half of my physical self. I was physically stronger and in better shape than EVER before. The number on the scale was a BONUS, and no longer the goal.

I don’t think I will own a scale ever again. The number on the scale does not measure health. It’s just a number.

This is me in January -Healthier than I have ever been in my life. And far from fat. But I know that without looking at the scale.

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑

Fat Girl to Ironman

My five year journey to awesomeness...

Jolie La Vie

Ridding Ourselves of Excess Weight

Gempiccaddilly

The struggles of a foodie, who likes restaurants, trying new foods, travelling to eat food but is still hopeful about reaching my (as yet) unrealised target of being a size 12. I post about my travels, food, my slimming world journey, food, pastimes and other randomness

simplycarinaxo

A lost soul in pursuit of health and happiness

To The Moon And The Stars

A Lifestyle, Travel And Everything In Between Kind of Blog

One Tough Mother Runner

Wife. Mother. Runner.

Discover

A daily selection of the best content published on WordPress, collected for you by humans who love to read.

Longreads

The best longform stories on the web

The Daily Post

The Art and Craft of Blogging

The WordPress.com Blog

The latest news on WordPress.com and the WordPress community.

